Texting while driving is now illegal in Florida

Florida became the 40th state to outlaw texting while driving after Gov. Rick Scott’s signing of a bill today in Miami. The ban goes into effect Oct. 1.

Texting while driving will become a secondary offense, meaning law enforcement must first stop drivers for another offense.  A first violation brings a $30 fine plus court costs. Second or subsequent violations within five years will add three points to the driver’s license and a $60 fine.

The ban includes typing or reading a text while driving.  It allows texting while stopped at a red light.  It includes tablet computers but excludes using a “talk-to-text” feature.

via Bill banning texting while driving to be signed today | Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune | TBO.com.

via Texting while driving is now illegal in Florida.

Comments are closed.